Off to Malawi!

Well this is my first ever blog post! I’ve decided to start this blog in order to share my upcoming adventures in Malawi. Hopefully will be able to continue it wherever my life and career may take me! I hope I get the hang of this quickly and don’t bore anyone too much in the process.

On January 10, 2012, I’m heading to Malawi for 6 months to manage a garden at Nature’s Gift Permaculture Centre in the capital, Lilongwe. While the growth of the local/organic food movement has increased permaculture‘s popularity, I know that many people I talk to are unclear as to what it is. Briefly, permaculture is an approach to sustainable agriculture that looks at cultivating food as a part of the larger ecosystem and that tries to mimic natural relationships. It reduces outside inputs and seeks to improve the surrounding environment. I hope to get certified in permaculture techniques while I’m in Malawi, I definitely have a lot to learn!

For those of you that are interested in (hopefully) regular updates, feel free to follow this blog! (To follow click on the “Follow” button, it’s in different places on the page depending on your web browser but if you look around you should see it. Enter your email address and you should then get an email whenever I add a new post.)

Gallery | This entry was posted in Malawi, Permaculture Demonstration Centre. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Off to Malawi!

  1. Tom Woodward says:

    Hi Catherine!

    Long time no talk! What a cool and exciting trip : ) Can’t wait to hear more updates on it and read the blog. Glad you’re doing well.

    Tom

  2. Land Wilson says:

    Hi, Cath!
    It sounds like you are in for another amazing experience. I am so proud of what you are doing! If you don’t mind, I’d like to share your posts about permaculture on Facebook. Everyone should know more about it. LvU ~Land

  3. Land Wilson says:

    Testing to see if I still have a wordpress account… ~Land

Leave a Reply

